do i need firewall to use unimus?

General discussion of anything Unimus
Post Reply
tomislav91
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:25 pm

Sun Oct 20, 2019 3:28 pm

Should I use more firewall to use a unimus? Because of often backups, and so on?
I just don't wanna get blocked, even if my subnet is allowed from router which i want to backup.
User avatar
Tomas
Posts: 758
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:33 pm

Sun Oct 20, 2019 9:13 pm

Apologies, but I am not sure I understand the question.

In general, if you don't want Unimus to be blocked by IDS/IPS, or other security:
1) bind credentials instead of doing credential discovery
2) use just a single connector port, instead of having multiple ports and doing port scanning
3) if you need multiple connector ports, setup Per-Tag Connector settings
4) add Unimus server IP to trusted / whitelisted IPs on the IDS/IPS

We also have more info on the Discovery process available on the Wiki:
https://wiki.unimus.net/display/UNPUB/Discovery
Arronpel
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 28, 2019 9:00 am

Tue Oct 29, 2019 2:18 pm

Is binding credentials a security risk at all?
User avatar
Tomas
Posts: 758
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:33 pm

Tue Oct 29, 2019 2:21 pm

From a security perspective, binding is better (more secure) than credential discovery.
Binding is simply a method to avoid credential scanning on a device.

More info on the Wiki in the Discovery article:
https://wiki.unimus.net/display/UNPUB/Discovery
Post Reply