Automate ".backup" files?

General discussion of anything Unimus
Post Reply
auwireless
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:45 pm

Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:39 pm

Is there a way to use Unimus to backup the ".backup" Mikrotik files? We want to use those for Winbox restore for a router failure (ie: take new hardware off the shelf and upload the .backup file to it).
User avatar
Tomas
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:33 pm

Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:44 pm

Hi,

.backup files in MikroTik are meant to be used only on the router they were taken from.
They contain router-specific things like MAC addresses, RouterOS license, MikroTik cloud identifier, etc.

So when restoring to another device, you need to use the export file (which is what Unimus backs up).
If you restore a .backup file to a different device than it was taken from, bad things will happen.

.backup files are also binary - so change detection and change notifications would not work.

For these reasons, we don't support retrieving .backup files from MikroTik, and we backup RouterOS using "/export".
auwireless
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:45 pm

Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:58 pm

Interesting... Our network admin is working on a written process for replacing an edge router with an identical replacement. We have found that trying to CLI paste the Unimus backup file (or any export) does not work. It does not place the write commands in the correct order. We find that it writes a config line that references something else that has not been written yet so that line errors out.

What are people doing when they need to create a quick but exact copy of a config when replacing a failed router?
User avatar
Tomas
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:33 pm

Wed Aug 01, 2018 4:07 pm

Usually process to restore a MikroTik is fairly simple:

1) Get the backup from Unimus
2) Get new MikroTik, connect to it using Winbox
3) Make sure the new MikroTik is the same RouterOS version as old MikroTik
4) Issue "/system reset-configuration no-default=yes"
5) After MikroTik reboots, connect using MAC-Winbox
6) Open a console and paste the contents of the backup file from Unimus

Step 3 and 4 are very important, since you need an empty MikroTik ("no-default=yes") of the same version to properly import the configuration.
Post Reply