Backup Change - Text Added during backup

Unimus support forum
Post Reply
dhaysley
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:52 pm

Mon Jan 20, 2020 1:17 pm

It appears that Unimus is inserting text during the nightly backup on some of our HP 2530 switches. It is common to see the following diff:

interface 25
[100;1Hinterface 25

We can run a backup first thing the next morning and the "[100;1" part is gone.

Any ideas as to why this is happening?

Thanks!
User avatar
Tomas
Posts: 803
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:33 pm

Mon Jan 20, 2020 7:30 pm

Hi,

This is currently a known issue on HP(E) ProVision / ProCurve / ArubaOS, where some VT100 control sequences can leak into the backup.

To provide a few more details - about 0,1% of control sequences make it past the filtering in our terminal emulation. While this is a tiny number, considering ProVision / ArubaOS outputs hundreds of VT sequences during backup output, one will make it through into the backup every now and then.

We plan to have this fully solved in the 2.0.0-Beta2 release. Please subscribe to the Beta forum section to be notified when this release will be available. Please note 2.0.0-Beta1 will be going out this week, but it will NOT yet contain a fix for this issue - that will come in Beta2.
dhaysley
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2019 1:52 pm

Tue Jan 21, 2020 1:33 pm

In the meantime, is there a way to delete the "bad" backups from Unimus?
User avatar
Tomas
Posts: 803
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 12:33 pm

Thu Jan 23, 2020 9:45 pm

dhaysley wrote:
Tue Jan 21, 2020 1:33 pm
In the meantime, is there a way to delete the "bad" backups from Unimus?
Currently the only way would be to delete the proper rows from the "BACKUP" table in the database.
Post Reply